Gun Permit To Carry (Renewal)
A Minnesota issued Permit to Carry is valid for five (5) years after the date of issue.
You may renew your permit no sooner than 90 days prior to the expiration date.
You can still renew your Permit to Carry up to 30 days after the expiration date (late fees apply). If it is longer than 30 days after the expiration date, you are required to apply for a new Permit to Carry.
Please refer to Minnesota Statute 624.714 for the laws governing your Permit to Carry.
Successfully pass a pistol safety training course
Even though you are renewing your Permit to Carry, you must still pass a safety training course given by a firearm instructor that is approved by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety. Training must be completed no more than one year prior to your renewal date.
Read the BCA's Permit to Carry FAQ
Laws and statutes might have changed in the last five years. Make sure you understand this information.
Complete the renewal application
You can obtain a hardcopy of the application in the lobby of the Olmsted County Sheriff's Office Adult Detention Center, or you can download and print the application.
For more information see the BCA's Permit To Carry web page.
Submit the application for renewal in person
Olmsted County Sheriff's Office
Adult Detention Center
101 4th Street SE
Rochester, MN 55904
8 AM - 4:00 PM
Bring with you:
- Completed application form, signed and dated by the Applicant
- Applicable fee (check, money order, certified check payable to Olmsted County Sheriff's Department)
- Proof of training in the safe use of a pistol (certificate, affidavit)
- Valid identification (driver's license, state identification card, passport)
Note: If you are ineligible for a permit due to a criminal conviction, but have obtained a pardon or expungement setting aside the conviction, sealing the conviction, or otherwise restoring applicable rights, you must submit a copy of the relevant order.
Want to provide more feedback? Contact us at email@example.com.