Gun Permit To Carry

If you live in Minnesota, you must apply at the Sheriff's Office in the county in which you live. Out-of-state applicants may apply at any of the 87 counties in the state.

You must be at least 21 years old and a citizen or permanent resident of the United States.
The initial permit is valid for five years.

Please refer to Minnesota Statute 624.714 for the laws governing your Permit to Carry.

If renewing:

  • A Minnesota issued Permit to Carry is valid for five (5) years after the date of issue.
  • You may renew your permit no sooner than 90 days prior to the expiration date.
  • You can still renew your Permit to Carry up to 30 days after the expiration date (late fees apply). If it is longer than 30 days after the expiration date, you are required to apply for a new Permit to Carry.

Please refer to Minnesota Statute 624.714 for the laws governing your Permit to Carry.

Keep in mind

Permits issued in Minnesota are valid throughout Minnesota. They may be acceptable in other states, but it is up to you to verify which states recognize and accept Minnesota Permits to Carry and which states do not.


Successfully pass a pistol safety training course 

You must pass a safety training course given by a firearm instructor that is approved by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety. Training must have been completed no more than one year prior to your application date. If renewing, you still must pass the training course.

Read the BCA's Permit to Carry FAQ 

Make sure you understand this information.

Complete the application 

You can obtain a paper copy of the application just inside the door labeled B1, at the Olmsted County Sheriff's Office Adult Detention Center, or you can download and print the application. You must have the application ready at the time of your appointment or you will have to reschedule.

For more information see the BCA's Permit To Carry web page.

Make an appointment to submit the application in person 

Submit the application in person by appointment only. Please follow the link below to schedule your appointment. Please read the guidelines given before scheduling and the email verification after making your appointment for location information and details on required documents.

Note: If you are ineligible for a permit due to a criminal conviction, but have obtained a pardon or expungement setting aside the conviction, sealing the conviction, or otherwise restoring applicable rights, you must submit a copy of the relevant order.

If you or someone you know is unable to schedule their appointment online please call 507 328-6832 between 3:30 p.m. and 4:15 p.m.

Want to provide more feedback? Contact us at webmaster@co.olmsted.mn.us.

Tell us why...